antipodean

By antipodean

Divya

It's Divya! I'm so lucky/pleased that one of my Tocil flatmates from term 1 at Warwick is only a short plane flight away, instead of all the way over in Europe.

This morning I managed to get myself up and out the house to the airport (with a bit of assistance from Dad). I used the Skybus service that runs from Southern Cross, which was surprisingly easy - for some reason, I thought it would be a nightmare but we arrived at the airport in twenty minutes, just like they said we would. It was lovely being able to waltz through security without checking luggage for once, and it was all very easy. I didn't even need my passport (although Dad tried to convince me I did, just because I didn't realise I needed my passport to go from London to Paris last year).

I got to Sydney by lunchtime to find the sun shining. I got some lunch while I waited for Divya to finish a uni assessment. We had a lovely reunion and a catch up chat before heading out to her place to drop my bags off. I met her family and had a cup of tea, and then we went to see Olympic Park, which is quite close to where she lives. I've only ever seen it on TV so it was awesome seeing all the Olympics stuff - including the cauldron, where the flame was lit. It was pretty cold and there was a rugby game on, so we didn't stay long.

Divya made risotto for dinner and then afterwards we headed to Oliver Brown, a chocolate shop/cafe, for hot chocolate and chats. It felt like no time had passed since we last saw each other, and it was awesome to reminisce about Warwick with someone who went through the same experience as me.

I like this photo! I wanted to get the hot chocolate in, and it's kind of visible in the bottom left, but I was too close to really show it off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.