Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Maths Books

Backblipped on 25th July 2013

I know that there will have been great excitement in the house today because it seems, from the photo, that today was the day my maths books for my new Open University course MST209 arrived.

I set off on the course pretty well and was enjoying it, but, sadly, got ill again, and eventually had to withdraw from the course.

Since I'm backblipping I can give you an update on the whole OU situation - I'm now about half way through my BSc in Maths, and am hoping to finish it in the next few years before the fee dispensation for existing students ends and it becomes prohibitively expensive for me to study any further.

However, since I've been so ill over the last few years, and what with all the horrors of 2012, I had to withdraw from so many courses that I was placed on "restricted status", which meant that I wasn't allowed to register for any more courses in the usual way.

However, very recently (June/July 2013) I've submitted an appeal, along with a letter of support from my GP, and am delighted that my appeal has been successful. So, in just a few months I shall be starting this course again.

Obviously, I can't guarantee that I won't get ill again - there are no guarantees about that sort of thing (for anybody, let alone those of us with a chronic condition), BUT, that's no reason to give up. This will be my last chance to be able to complete my BSc and I'll certainly give it my very best shot.

The Wonderspouse has a very sensible saying about this sort of thing:
If you try, then there's no guarantee you WILL succeed, but you give yourself the best chance. If you DON'T try, then you definitely WON'T succeed.

So, working on that principle, I'm going for it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.