JanetH

By JanetH

Bamburgh Castle

Although the forecast was rain I had decided to take a chance and visit Holy Island as that is one of the key visits of my time here. I set the alarm for an earlier start but one look out of the window said it was not worth it - flat grey sky and pouring rain!

I started doing some processing but within the hour the sun was out and a lovely blue sky. I grabbed the camera and set out. By the time I reached Holy Island I was in thick fog and decided it wasn't worth it. A quick check back at base said it was still sunny nearer Alnwick so I settled for a drive down the coast.

Stopped at Bamburgh Castle in lovely sun but within 5 mins of taking this picture, standing in the same position, I couldn't see the castle at all and I couldn't see the sea either. It was actually rather strange, as though I was standing in the centre of a polo mint. I was in sunshine with blue sky above but I couldn't see anything around me in any direction. Quite a spiritual moment!

I moved on down the coast and had a lovely walk from Dunstan sands to Dunstanburgh Castle. More photos will be added to flickr shortly.

Big Adventure Day 50 - Bamburgh and Dunstanburgh
Photos 111/8206
Flickr account - North-East and Nature sets

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.