JanetH

By JanetH

A moment in Tyne

First blipmeet of the Big Adventure today. I met GailyWaily for the first time at Tesco and, after a quick drink and hello, we went down to the quayside. GW runs a very good photographic tour of the Tyne and I had a much fuller experience than if I'd gone on my own.

First we walked over the Millennium bridge and then straight up to the viewing gallery of the Baltic (once the lift allowed us to get to the right floor!). We were at the gallery just as the bridge started to lift so, after a few photos from the top, we raced back down to get a few from the side. It was fascinating to watch. We then walked through and round the Sage, an amazing building from a distance and some wonderful reflections and colours today. Then we crossed the river another three times on the different bridges, all providing their own perspective. Lots of photo opportunities and such a glorious day too.

We were certainly ready for a drink and lunch ... and we indulged ourselves with a very naughty (but delicious) desert too! Lots of chat and laughs. A fabulous day! Many thanks GW! :-)

I ended the day with a drive through Tynemouth and around Whitley Bay, stopping for some photos at St Mary's lighthouse. I found myself a rock on the beach where I could look across the water and get a reflection of the lighthouse. I patiently waited for people to move from the causeway, not realising I was getting cut off by the sea in the meantime. I had a quick paddle back to dry land!

It was hard to decide what to blip. I settled for this one as it is a moment in time - I love the effect the boat created with the reflections. It also, just, contains every element of our tour.

Big Adventure Day 51 - Newcastle blipmeet
Photos 92/8298
Blipmeets 1

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.