Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Rain Dash

I'd been due to meet my Chew&Chat friend Tom on Monday, fitting that in after an appointment with my cardiologist, but I had to cancel both appointments because of the trouble with my wrist. Tom phoned yesterday to suggest meeting for lunch today and I readily said yes.

It was good to get out of the house and get in to town after spending the week so far cooped up in the house. We met for lunch in the Grand Central Bar (okay food, and great chat) and then we went on to Tom's place for an inspection of the work he's recently done there. His place looks great. We had a couple of glasses of some weird drink he'd brought back from one of his trips away, and listened to some music on his Sonos system.

At one stage during our listening the heavens opened and torrential rain fell for fifteen minutes or so, after which it cleared up quickly and the weather seemed to have got the nastiness out of its system. After one more 'just one more piece of music' I said my goodbyes and left. My timing couldn't have been worse. The rain was back as I got outside, and I was only a few steps down the road when the clouds burst again and lightning flashed and thunder rolled. Tom's place is on a rather steep street, and it wasn't long before mini rivers of rainwater were racing down the slope, gutters were overflowing and huge raindrops were bouncing large distances back up into the air. My place of shelter gradually became wetter and wetter underfoot, but I had to stay there for twenty minutes before it eased off enough to move on.

Further shelter stops were needed before I finally got to my bus stop and made my way home. The blip was taken on Abbey Street as I sheltered before my final dash. I was pretty drenched from the waist down by the time I got home. It's all passed over and away now.

I've done some back-blipping, from here and here.

I've also finally back-blipped some of the blank days from our Norway/Russia/Finland holiday in 2011 (begins here). Who knows, I might actually get round to filling the rest of that sorry gap.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.