KatGirl

By katgirl

One of those days

Today we invited Bob's friend to join us at the recreation center. He was very excited about the water slide and the climbing wall.

But I forgot my wallet and needed $4 to pay his guest fee. Between a dollar in my gym bag and all the coins in Bob's car seat cup (counted down to pennies) we had enough to pay. Phew!

But when we got inside, we found out the pool was closed (electrical problem to the filtration system). No worries, we thought, we will do the climbing wall or the game roomI until it opens in a few minutes. But without the pool, the climbing wall and game room were filled with kids from the day camp with no room for us. When it became clear that the pool was not imminently opening, as we had been told when we paid the scrounged $4, I offered some alternatives to the boys.

They chose a movie. We went home to get my wallet. Then, we saw Despicable Me 2. Of course, we had to walk back a long way to the car to get my cell phone (I am always on call). Bob's friend must think I am the most scatterbrained woman on Earth. I bought them strawberry lemonade icees and the candy of their choice. Then after the movie, they played video games.

So a day of low cost active fun turned in to a day high cost low activity fun. The boys had fun in the end, but they clearly would have preferred the recreation center. We are trying the rec center again on Saturday. Let's hope the rec center pool cooperates. At least there won't be any campers in our way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.