Skyroad

By Skyroad

An Interview

I first met MK (pictured above) in the Cobalt Restaurant on North Great George's Street, opposite The James Joyce Centre where I worked a few years ago. It was a pleasure to see her at my booklaunch last Wednesday. She is now a presenter for popular Dublin radio station, and asked if I'd do an interview. I agreed and she called me a couple of days later to arrange it.

I've been interviewed a couple of times before, but haven't enjoyed it this much, or found so much to say; about my new collection, poetry in general, my schooldays, photography etc. MK was wonderfully warm, attentive and gracious. She had obviously read my work (and even looked at my blogs on photography and so on), and asked thoughtful, sometimes interestingly difficult, questions. I found myself in a particularly chatty mood (hopefully not too loquacious), and the talk flowed freely. The photo taken after the interview, as we were beginning to unwind (not that I'd been wound-up in the first place, but one is always a little tense on such occasions).

I also had a great chat with the sound technician, David, pictured HERE with MK, putting the finishing touches to the interview. David is also a DJ. He pointed out the difference between digital recording and the old fashioned kinds, and came out with a lovely phrase, describing cassetts and vinyl as having a "warm, round sound." He also took the trouble to write a list of artists fro me to check out, including Steve Reich, Blackalicious (wonderful name), The Craft and Blazing Arrows. Alas though, he couldn't identify the music in that strange TV ad for the 'Green Energy Festival', of a girl walking oddly because she is keeping step with a car in a traffic jam, enraptured by the hypnotic bassy sound of whatever music the driver has tuned in to. I saw the ad a number of times and became interested in the music myself. Anyone know it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.