Kolachi Karachi

By Marylou

Getting a 'handle' on things

Hi blip friends, it's been a while since my last entry. I can't say things have been crazy but I've had other priorities.

I went to the hardware store this morning to buy some shelves for the kitchen and spotted these pretty handles and knobs displayed on a wall - I started taking pictures of the pink ones because I really liked them and then just kept clicking. Managed to find some really nice kitchen shelves too so the trip was a success.

Yesterday my friend Shysta came over for a visit with her adorable 2-year-old son. She moved to Saudi Arabia over a year ago to be with her husband who works there and is in Karachi for Ramazan and Eid. Shysta and I have been friends for about 18 years now - we met in our first year of college when we were both 16. Our lives have been full of ups and downs since then and we have been through a lot of thick and thin with each other. But I think our friendship has been a lesson in endurance and perseverance for both of us and in spite of occasionally wanting to call it quits, I am glad we have stuck it out as friends. We talked non-stop for two hours and I played with her sweetie pie of a son. It was a lovely afternoon.

My quiet times over the last week have been about persevering in my spiritual race and I've been reading a lot about how Paul endured all kinds of hardship but he refused to quit. I came across this great post on Desiring God, a website that I like and found it really helpful (this one is definitely going up on my pin board!). I was amazed afresh at God's goodness and how he provides help and encouragement in every difficult situation.

Hope you're having a wonderful weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.