Combi31

By Combi31

Red deer stag

Got up early today as I had some jobs to do on the combi and a repair job to do on a surfboard and I knew it was going to be a really hot day, so this was going to be the only way.

After breakfast we took the dogs out - we have a gateway from my garden onto an area of heathland that leads to a forest which is teeming with birds, insects and other wildlife.

As we got onto the scrub, Norman (the Jack Russell) and Scooby (Beauceron cross Belgian shepherd) headed off into the thick brush, flushing a couple of does and their young out, I called them back and they grudgingly sat watching the deer amble off into the forest - the deer are used to this ...

See it larger here.

Further along a stag - the one in the picture - leapt over a fence towards us, heading for a band of trees alongside a field of lucerne, the dogs took off again, I called them back again ... same old same old.

Then the stag decided to cross the field 50 meters down from us, ambling slowly but keeping a watchful eye on us, before leaping the fence and heading into the forest with the does and young.

Don't worry, the dogs are very well trained and stop as soon as I call them and they don't worry the deer, who, it would appear are used to this game as they are always here and never take off with any air of panic - I just wouldn't do it I thought otherwise.

So it's a warm one - apparently we are going to have a few days of 'cool' weather 31° - 33°c until Thursday, when it takes off again into the high thirties.

I have made a variety of dips for dinner to eat with grissini, a caviar d'aubergine from the young white aubergines I have grown and a selection of tartines, mostly sea food.
I am also going to make an Eton mess, which is different to the usual mess I make in the kitchen ... Boom, boom!

One of my favourite bands, which is exactly what is happening now - Yay!

I hope your Saturday was good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.