Fun at the Apple store---NOT

My iPhone was not working right, so I went to the Apple store for help. Had to make an appointment to see a technician and then wait for the time of the appointment to come around. That's when I snapped this picture. The bad news was that the tech told me there was something wrong with the screen and the phone could not be fixed because it was 30 days past the warranty date. However, he said I could contact Verizon (where I bought the phone) and see if they would extend the date. Then I could upgrade my phone to an iPhone 4s for only $99. Since I already have an iPhone 4s, that didn't seem like such a good deal. Nor did his suggestion that I upgrade to an iPhone 5 for $199, although that was a slightly better deal.

So I went home and called Verizon. The tech there told me it didn't sound like a problem with the phone. It was a software problem in her opinion. That was the good news, and that is actually what it was. With help from the Verizon techs, I was able to backup everything to my computer, wipe the phone, and then restore it. Now it is working as good as new. Although it took a lot of time, Verizon was very helpful, and it didn't cost a red cent, as the saying goes. The lesson I learned from this is: Be forewarned. Don't assume the Apple technicians have the final word, especially when they are suggesting you need to purchase new phones (that you don't need).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.