Houseonahill6

By Houseonahill6

The ugly bug ball.

There were plenty of bees, hoverflies and butterflies in our little meadow. Well it's just an area we leave unmown but it has a wide variety of grasses and wildflowers including ragwort, thistle, dandelion, foxglove, tufted vetch and clover plus others, not bad for a small patch.
This Male Meadow brown is looking a bit tatty. I have nt seen a female but a few butterflies were whizzing about quickly so I may have missed her. They lay there eggs on grasses so they may use our 'Meadow'.
also saw a few large whites and a small tortoise shell and a few very small ones that I could nt ID.

When we were rearranging the garage I came across the butterfly nets and bug boxes I used at Wildlife club. Think I may have a gentle sweep through the grasses tomorrow and see what turns up.
Weathers been quite good, sunny with a few rain showers. It's definitely getting cooler.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.