The baby swallows have hatched

I popped down to the carport today to check on the swallow that has been sitting on the nest for a while now and was greeted by four little heads peeping out. Not the prettiest of babies but most birds are rather ugly until they get their feathers and open their eyes.
You can clearly see three here and the fourth is hidden behind the big white feather.
I'm looking forward to seeing them grow. There's plenty of flying insects around so they should be ok.

The other visitor that we are not so keen on is a herring gull and occasionally it brings a mate. However Mike looked on the internet on a way to scare the gulls and found a recording of a hawk. It works and the gulls fly off and stay away for sometime. I now have the sound on the iPad so I can just press a button if I see it.

The weathers been pretty good with long spells of sunshine and a few showers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.