The Poss

By PossMan

Scotch Whisky

I can't pretend to be very knowledgeable about spirits but every now and then will decide to have a nightcap. People used to say "fancy a Scotch?" or "fancy a whisky?" but those days are gone. It has to be a "malt" or "single malt". I can't help feeling this is a triumph for advertising hype and although I quite enjoy a malt now-and-then I remember some of the nice light blends which seem to have disappeared from the UK market. "Cutty Sark" and "Canadian Club" to mention a couple. Mrs P's mum and dad have recently moved into a home and these are a couple of bottles she retrieved. Not very trendy but quite nice nevertheless. I've been unable to decipher when they were bottled. Inver House Green Plaid was apparently first launched on the American market in 1956 and is now part of Inver House Distillers which owns about 5 distilleries in Perth as far as I can make out.
A Mr Hankey and Mr Bannister set up shop in London in 1757 but the whisky brand that bears their name now belongs to Inver House Distilleries.
Cheers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.