Buff Tailed Bumble Bee?

I've spent quite a lot of today attempting to photograph bees, so it only seemed right that I chose a `bee blip'. I think this is a male Buff Tailed Bumble Bee on Echinops, which I photographed this morning in the garden at Littlethorpe Manor, near Ripon. An amazing garden and one that stretches over quite a few acres, so if you ever get the chance to visit (I think it's open to groups) then you might want to jump at the chance. The visit was organised by the Wakefield based English Florists Tulips Society and we got to go through an invite of a friend of a friend (if you know what I mean). In the afternoon we visited Norton Conyers - totally different but another wonderful garden and lovely people. The house is late Medieval and said to be the inspiration for the wife in the attic story in Jane Eyre. Unfortunately the house is closed at the moment as extensive renovation is taking place caused by Death Watch Beetle infestation but they hope to open again next summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.