Forest Cuckoo Bee?

... well I think it maybe. All the bees on the perennial border at Cannon Hall appeared to be cuckoo bees , though they were not all the same species. I've got some photos posted on the BeeWatch website, so I'll be able to say a bit more when I get a confirmed identification. The alternative to bees was someone polishing their vintage Mercedes following a heavy shower of rain. Personally I preferred the bee. We had to park in Cawthorne village today, because of all the traffic trying to get to the vintage fair, and then walk the mile to Cannon Hall. Our week away on holiday has certainly helped our fitness - it seemed such an easy walk, even the uphill bits. We must make sure we keep walking through August.

p.s. I think the flower is Inula hookeri - I'm going to get some for our garden - the bees love it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.