Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

How to get home when half cut

Or when cut in half. Carry your own legs.

This picture was inspired by a story I read in the papers this week about an illusionist in America who jumps out at people on the street looking like he has been cut in half and is carrying his own legs. You can see a clip here.

I set out simply taking some hurried pictures with the intention of figuring out how I was going to create the effect. I had little but a vague notion in my head. This was supposed to be a throw away trial. After what was probably a couple of hours work, I had an image that whilst not perfect did never the less achieve the effect I had in mind, and you know what? I can't be arsed to do it all again just to get a better image, so this one is going to have to do. I think the fun is in figuring out 'how to do it'. I have no burning desire to do it all again for no good reason.

Where did yesterday go? Got a few things done in the morning, took Anna for lunch, did the food shopping and bam - it's 5 o'clock and someone has to think about cooking dinner. I'm going to try and squeeze a bit more out of my Sunday than I appear to have managed with Saturday. Why don't the working days fly by quite so quickly?

Message from Rosina this morning. She has a fridge in her room at last. She says she is embarrassed at how excited she got over a fridge. Tomorrow, she is going shopping for a toaster. How living away from home changes our children. It should be part of the national curriculum.

Message for Rachel last night. She and Ross were getting in practice for our holiday to France by drinking red wine. Why is it that youngsters prefer white to red? No competition as far as I'm concerned and pretty much all of my friends feel the same way. A half decent red is so smooth and fruity, whereas even a good white can never match that, and an average one can really be quite a bit harsh.

P.S. As I'm looking at the picture, I can see another way of creating the effect that would probably have been easier and more realistic, but would involve 2 people. The upper and lower halves in this picture are both me, so I do feel it is more authentic if that word has any place in a heavily modified image :-)

P.P.S My daughter expressed concern at the state of my toes. I pointed out that I was deliberately leaning over as that is what a pair of legs carrying a body would have to do to stay balanced. Attention to detail see. Others call it OCD :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.