Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

I couldn't eat my breakfast this morning

Because it was giving me the eye!

Also a little bit hung over after last night. Beer, wine and whiskey. Note the spelling - it was a Jamesons, so Irish, not Scotch. I did get a picture of the birthday girl, but as it was before midnight, I couldn't make it today's photo, so once again, I was up at the crack of dawn playing around in photoshop.

Must say I wasn't impressed with the food last night. It was a chef & brewer pub and they seem to have devised a menu that makes best use of cheap ingredients, but they are not being offered at cheap prices.

Example - Stilton and peppercorn mushrooms consisted of 2 - 3 mushrooms on a thick piece of toasted bloomer in a cream sauce with a minute trace of Stilton. Dry and uninspiring

Example - Slow braised Ox cheek pie with garlic roasted potatoes. There wasn't enough ox cheek in the pie to fill a small sausage, and the potatoes had not a hint of garlic. No accompanying veg, just a pie in a dish and guess what it was served with? Two thick slices of bloomer loaf.

I won't be rushing back there.

Spoke to Rosina today. She has been out on a date already. Didn't take her long to get over the boyfriend she left behind when she went to Australia, though to be fair, I don't think she ever considered him to be a boyfriend. Just a boy who was a friend.

Anna returned from France. She has had a lovely time with Matthew. Only bad piece of news is that he is still eating too many McDonalds. I need to have a stern word with him when I go out there on the 2nd August.

Took Anna to lunch at the Highlander. A very nice lunch. It's not hard to provide good food at good prices if the people doing it care. A lesson to be learned by Chef & Brewer here me thinks.

Kite festival on Dunstable Downs this weekend. Might try and get myself there today or tomorrow, but the weather is not looking promising

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.