Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

Light and Shade

A walk on the Wither Hills before dawn seemed like a good idea this morning. I have not been up there for a while and I was determined to strike a dramatic sunrise for some great images. That was not to be. The day dawned cloudless with a bland sky.
I had camera trouble with the viewfinder display not showing up which meant more difficulty in choosing camera settings. This was very annoying as the D600 has only recently been up to Auckland for repairs. At least the problem of sensor dust has been sorted with a new shutter plate unit and a replacement aperture control base unit (whatever that means).
Sigh...So later in the day after searching the internet, checking through manuals and long conversations with another Nikon user I have concluded that the viewfinder issue is a technical fault. That means the camera will need to be shipped back to Nikon tomorrow...for the third time. It is so disappointing and upsetting as, apart from the troubles I have had so far, I do like the camera.
Anyway the technical issue did not stop me from making a number of images. This one is a view looking behind me. One of my photography mentors, Freeman Patterson, told us..."Always look behind you...sometimes you will be surprised at what you see." So I do make a habit of looking behind me on a regular basis.... And I am often delighted with what I see.
Today's image is typical of the Wither Hills looking south in the early morning. Light and shade, light and shade....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.