New build

This new build has been moving on apace close to where Carl lives. I first saw it up close a few days ago when I first ventured in an unusual direction on one of my walks, and was very taken by the crispness of the rendering, which is as good as I've seen. Today I was a bit disappointed to see that a capping channel was being fitted. No doubt this is necessary for weathering and water proofing and so on, but it rather spoils the clean lines which were there before.

Bernard from the music group showed up mid-morning to join me for coffee. We walked to Glasthule and back, stopping at Number 64 across the rad from The Eagles pub. The coffee was so good we had seconds, and my pecan-pie slice was utterly delicious. The arrangement is that you go up to the counter inside to place your order and they bring it out to you if you've managed (as we did) to find a table free on the pavement. It was while placing our order that we were struck by the wonderful range of food stuffs on display inside. The place advertising itself as a wine shop, but it's also a delicatessen to rival the nearby Cavistons. One shelf out in the middle of the interior grabbed Bernard's attention, so we just had to drool over the amazing range of chocolate there when we went to pay the bill. Bernard paid good money for some exotic chocolate bar, but I was sufficiently strong-willed not to give in to temptation.

I hadn't taken the camera with me, and the weather looked unsettled when we got back, so I resorted to a few quick blips of the guys working on the new build, taken through Carl's front window. Better than nothing, I guess.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.