David Nichols

By davidnichols

Solo Cross Country to Jicin

View from the cockpit of OK-FLY, a Piper Archer III (PA-28-181) on my 2nd cross-country flight while flying from Jicin to Sazena. The small city visible from the cockpit window is Melnik

Today went much better than the last flight, no problems at all on any of the legs of the 4 leg flight, although I had to divert south after Chomutov due to a thunderstorm moving through the area. I made full stop landings at the first 2 airports, having not landed at either of them for a while (and never until now without my instructor), but I made a touch and go landing at Jicin after a very nice approach and soft touchdown just after the runway threshold.

I saw rain showers and lightning over Prague on the way back, and the thunderstorm reached my home airport (Sazena) about 10 minutes after I landed. I had been checking Praha Ruzyne ATIS most of the way to monitor the weather situation; it turned out my timing was just right to get in before the weather hit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.