David Nichols

By davidnichols

Cross Country to Liberec

While flying a solo navigation flight to Liberec from Jaromer, rain showers blocked the way north, and I tried to fly around the clouds to the west.

When I got to Jicin, which was far south of my planned route to the northwest, the sky to the west also became covered with rain clouds; I could not fly further southwest due to a restricted area, so after circling a couple of times and seeing the situation worsen, I decided to land at the Jicin airport. I landed in the rain with only moderate visibility and waited there for 20 minutes until the weather cleared to the west, and then took off again for Sazena. There was a 14 knot crosswind when landing at Sazena, but the landing went fine.

Despite the turbulence and the bad weather today, it was a very good experience.

The Piper is going in for a scheduled service tomorrow, so I guess I'll be back in the Cessna 150 trainers again until after the service.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.