Sydney

By Sydney

Felting

I work with a woman who's church hosts a Festival of Nativities each year. Last year there were some truly remarkable examples from around the world, made of tin cans, beads, clay, wood and newspaper to name a few of the ingenious materials the artists used. It was simply astounding! It inspired me to try my hand using wool roving. I have never worked with wool roving, I don't even knit, but this has proven to be a really fun activity and I have learned a great deal. Another of my coworkers became interested in it and is using some of her time to felt figures from some of my preschool children's favorite stories. This is especially helpful for some children with special needs as touching something concrete that relates to what you are hearing can support sensory processing, increase engagement and provide meaningful opportunities for social engagement when we reenact the tales or use them for direction following such as "make your hedgehog jump UP", that kind of thing. I do love my job and the children I teach. I am very lucky!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.