La vida de Annie

By Annie

Market day

It's quite a few years since I've been to an East End market, so being in London today in lovely sunny weather I thought I'd walk down to the local one and try to clear my head from last night's excesses.

I've discovered the shoot-from-the-hip street photography technique isn't for me, partly because my hip is quite low (DZ - I am NOT a midget), and also because you have no idea what you've taken until afterwards. Consequently I was peering through the eyepiece a lot from hiding places behind gaudy beach towels etc, hoping not to be challenged for taking pictures in a public place. Either no-one noticed or they didn't mind the batty woman sneaking around the stalls. I did however fall prey to a fierce lady with a box of small posies of heather, from which she offered me one "for luck". I must have hesitated a moment too long, because she moved her head close and growled "never refuse a gypsy". I quickly bunged her a quid, kicking myself for being too preoccupied with the camera to have spotted her coming. I then hit on the idea of following her and blipping her cornering another victim, but her sixth sense or gypsy magic kicked in and she always seemed to turn towards me at the crucial moment. This spooked me so despite my "lucky" posy I legged it before the luck ran out.

Apart from that the market was as fun as I remembered: the banter of the stallholders and the sheer diversity of the items for sale in a very multicultural society. Had to leave in the end as the blaring competing sounds of reggae and Michael Jackson tributes, and the pervasive aroma of fried onions and burgers were playing havoc with my headache and dodgy stomach respectively.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.