Stargazers

The stargazer lilies in my front flower bed began blooming a few days ago. On this day, the fourth and final flower opened, creating a profusion of blooms that fairly shone with bright pinkness in the morning light.

One morning a few days ago, while sitting on the front porch with the cat on my lap, I spied a hummingbird drinking from one of these. Now that would have made a fine photo, but alas, I had a cat and not a camera in my hands at that moment. So the lilies, sans hummingbird, will have to do. (But you can use your imagination to paint one in if you like!)

The song to accompany this scene is a song by Scottish folk singer Shelah McDonald, Stargazer, from the album of the same name.

P.S. Because I am a cat lover, as a public service, any time I post a photo of a lily here, I also include a link to information about lily toxicity in cats. Yes, lilies are very dangerous for cats (and they're not really good for dogs either). If you have lilies, please do not let your cats near them, thanks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.