West Coaster

By WestCoaster

The Morning Glass

I shot this for my friend, the tranquillity of my walk in the early hours captured in a single frame. The dew was heavy, the grass wet beneath my boots, my footprints laid out behind me dark against the whiteness of the dew. There was total silence, not even the calls of the ducks and with my ipod turned way down low just a little distraction to my thoughts. Gerry Rafferty was my companion this morning, Gerry lived in Kilmacolm for a while, as did Chrissie Hynd when married to Jim Kerr of Simple Minds.

I wondered as a walked if Gerry had done this walk, if he had been inspired by this most beautiful of places. He was another fabulous lyricist, a troubled soul who battled the demons throughout his life but he continually produced wonderful songs. Woefully underrated, remembered for Baker Street and Stuck in the Middle With You but so much more, if you are not familiar with his work please take the time to seek him out and enjoy. Sadly gone now but still much loved.

I hope you enjoy the shot, best viewed in large. The title comes from trips north to surf, we would roll out our tents and paddle the morning glass sun on out backs and not a care in the world. I yearn for those days and for the freedom to enjoy...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.