Christian Pedersen

By ChrisP

I don't even know what this is

I went to pick up some film today and on exiting the photo lab stumbled upon this strange ceremony. Here are the facts: 6 adolescent males on their knees, 10 huge pieces of bamboo, 3 pretty girls in traditional garb, and a slowly growing crowd of nosy wanderers (myself included). So these guys pretty much whacked the bamboo onto other bamboo to a steady rhythm either bringing two pieces together or separating them. The girls had to dance their way from one side to the other trying to avoid getting their ankles crushed. I'm guessing the guys were gentle, because they got "caught" dozens of times and thought it was hilarious. The girl in the long dress was particularly giddy, but a little shy, hiding when I pulled a Mudan TLR out of my bag and pointed it in her direction. I tried to figure out what was going on, but my Mandarin is terrible, so if anyone knows more than me don't hold back.

BTW I've just started backbliping. My B/W film is taking a while so maybe I'll finish thursday/friday next week. Check out the first blip before the big trip here. It's a doozy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.