fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Error of judgement

There aren't many downsides to having a ten year old son who provides you with an excuse to indulge in lengthy conversations about super-heroes, Doctor Who and physics, in fact there may only be one, but it is a very significant one: you have to be careful not to neglect your youngest daughter.

So, this week, when Dan and I arranged to see The Wolverine, I asked Abi if she wanted to come, too. And when she said yes, I felt really relieved because, frankly, it meant I wouldn't feel guilty about doing something with Dan and not her.

I had the afternoon off work, so first of all we went to the Turkish Barber's (see yesterday's post), so Dan could have his haircut and then we went up to Subway. It was mildly disappointing although not altogether surprising to find the Kendal franchise limits the use of the refill cup to one drink but as we were due to spend two and a half hours sat in the cinema, this seemed like it might be for the best.

We went back to the Brewery and collected our tickets, and then Dan and Abi went to buy their popcorn and fizzy drinks (effectively doubling the price of the cinema trip. Sorry, pet irritation of mine).

There was a queue at the stand, so we were slightly late going into the film, cautiously making our way in the dark, while I worried about a tripping related popcorn disaster. We found some good seats and settled in. On screen, there was a big explosion and Wolverine was badly burned but his mutant healing power quickly sorted him out, including restoring his haircut and beard. I looked 'round to see Dan already enjoying himself and then turned to Abi.

Illuminated by the cinema screen, her eyes were wide and sad. Her head shook once, almost imperceptibly, left to right and back.

And so, while Dan watched the film, Abi and I sat in the foyer, eating her popcorn and reading our books. Occasionally, from the corner of my eye, I would see her look at me and I'd look up and smile, and tell her it was fine and I was happy reading my book. And truth be told, I was, right up until the moment when Dan came out and started telling me how great the film was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.