Bee home

The thing with presents is that, ultimately, the price is completely inconsequential. I mean, you might be surprised by how much someone has spent on you - either flattered or insulted - but the absolute value of a present is how much thought has gone into it. (And that goes both ways; if you expect someone to spend a lot on you, I'd suggest you don't hold them in very high regard.)

The very best presents are the ones that show a real consideration for the person for whom you're buying. My brother once gently directed me to an episode of 'Frasier' in which Niles points out that Frasier buys presents for their father that he thinks Marty *should* like. It was a fair cop and I changed my approach.

This week, the Minx bought me this house for bees. It's not a hive; it's for bees that don't produce honey. I have no idea how much it cost but I absolutely love it. I love it for what it is and also for the fact that it shows that the Minx has observed me sidling towards a bit of a fascination with bees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.