A Life of Laughter

By LaughterLover

Symbols

I really like symbols. I love how symbols mean different things in different cultures and that symbols can also mean different things to different people.

Rory and I both wear two bracelets that to me, symbolise our love. I love wearing them, the original ones are handmade by us and are just plaited bits of cross stitch thread which have then been threaded together. We've had these bracelets for over a year, and I would feel odd if I didn't have it on (Rory's is the red, blue, white and yellow one: mine is blue, green, purple and white). My Rory bracelet has an eye of Horus charm attached to it, which I was given years ago by my Dad and adds to the sentiment of my bracelet. To me, this bracelet is invaluable, although it won't be worth anything to anyone else.

The second bracelets we wear are ones that we got conned into buying in Paris. We got stopped outside of the Sacre Coeur and the next thing we knew, we had string round our thumbs and men were trying to get us to pay 80 euros for the two bracelets. Safe to say that we didn't pay that, Rory got the price down to under 20 euros.

Since Valentine's Day, I have worn the heart necklace that Rory gave me as a present everyday. I now feel naked and a little lost if it's not around my neck. I only take it off to shower and even then, I hate taking it off.

It's funny how it's the little things in life that come to mean the most and everyone will have a useless item that has come to mean to world to them. My mum cherishes an oven dish that was my granmothers. My grandad's chess set is one of the most prized possessions that my dad owns and it's only a cheap plastic set. Everyone has something like this and I like that. I like that people become attached to the things that hold memories for them.

I smile everytime I play with my bracelets and my necklace. They make me think of Rory and the special moments we have shared together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.