The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

It's all in the marbling..........

At the risk of boring you all with yet another butterfly, I went to my fave place up on the south downs again today, it was cool and a bit windy so I was hopeful of finding this beautiful butterfly the marbled white (Melanargia galathea).
At first I only found Chalkhill blues and skippers and what whites there were were large and small, then as I moved my way systematically through the meadow I came across about 5 Marbled whites, roosting in the long grasses.
So...Today's blip is a marbled white butterfly, wings open, trying to warm up in the weak sunshine.
I love these butterflies, I think their black and white colour is really smart, and when it is slightly warmer than it was today they can be seen flying around wild flower meadows epitomising everything beautiful, about these enchanting places.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.