Angelique

By Angelique

"SIMPLY THE BEST!!" - better than all th

Being Wednesday and no rehearsal now, I went into Taunton to do the week's shopping. Because Taunton is undergoing a new road scheme right through the centre of town, traffic is chaotic. Because of that I didn't want to spend too long and thought, "What can I photograph"!!

After my food shopping, I parked in the centre in the only street where it's free. On walking back from the town, I noticed this amazing large flower bud and realised what it was, Magnolia Grandiflora. I haven't seen this tree for years and certainly not in bud. When it flowers, usually towards the end of summer, they can be 8 inches across. Now you see why the buds are so big.

This particular tree, which grows up to 25 feet, is beside a lovely house, now used as an office in a car park. I would imagine in years gone by, it was part of a large country house, but like all things, due to modern urban living, it's now a car park.

I will continue to watch it's progress, and when it does flower, I will 'post' a photo.

The weather here has been very depressing. Not cold, but heavy with no sun and the occassional precipitation.

Pay day today, being the last day of July - hooray. And the weekend is not far away. We're looking forward to Saturday - Taunton Flower Show which is a spectacular event. Described as the Chelsea Flower show in the west. We have been attending for several years but this time we are taking Phoebe!!

Hope your Wednesday has been kind with no bad news or heartaches. Sleep well and until we meet again, thank you for visiting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.