MY OLD SCHOOL

Had an appointment at the doctors this afternoon. Made it a few days ago when I was feeling ill. I was OK today but decided to keep the appointment just to check everything was OK. Doc checked temp, blood pressure & chest and she prodded about a bit and said all was fine. She thinks it may have been a gallstone giving me trouble but that it has passed out now. Anyway I feel fine now.

After the docs I went to Tesco - more cherries - wasn't overcharged!.

On the way home I stopped off at my old primary school to take this photo. The school was opened in 1909 and was for boys and girls. At the top of this yard was where the infants played out and the entrance to the Infants was in the building on the right. At the bottom of the slope was where the Junior girls played and the entrance for girls was down at the bottom on the right. Where the 2 white vans are parked at the bottom there used to be the girls (-outdoor) toilets. The Junior boys yard and entrance are on the other side of the fence on the right. Junior boys and Junior girls didn't play out together.

You can imagine how tricky it was to play with a ball in the yard due to the steep slope. The built up bit of playground on the right for infants wasn't there in my day. I went to this school between 1957 and 1962. The teachers were quite strict - you had to show your handkerchief at the start of each day and your fingernails too. But the teaching was excellent and I did pass my Eleven Plus. I remember being very happy during my time there.

A decision has recently been made by the Government to rebuild the school as it is beginning to show its age. There is spare land nearby which has been earmarked for the new school and hopefully work will begin soon.

Have only just got on to the computer so I am blipping late tonight. Neil was on a training course in Middlesbrough today and he got home around 7.30pm. He went straight online and spend around 3 - 4 hours sorting out coach travel and bits and pieces of other stuff for a trip he and his friend Chris are making to Australia over Christmas. There is a certain cricket match they have tickets for - England v the Aussies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.