SweetArt

By SweetArt

Vegas Strip

Started our day racing off to catch our helicopter tour of the Grand Canyon. Temps are around 38C and it was boiling waiting outside to get on. We took off and knew we were in for something spectacular. Just didn't realise it would be tear jerking. I can honestly say that it was one of the most moving experiences in my life.

I can highly recommend doing a helicopter trip to get the feel and majesty of this incredible formation. Martin and I needed some time afterwards to just gather ourselves and take in what we'd just seen (and I needed a few tissues!).

I haven't mentioned that our hotel in Williams was on the historic Route 66!!! We were thrilled to be on it and stopped at some roadside cafes to experience some real Americana. Have some fridge magnets to add to my collection.

We then headed out on our next road trip to Las Vegas. Talk about going from the sublime to the ridiculous ... But we still wanted to experience it and see what the hype is all about. And it was exciting too.

On our way there, we noticed signs for Hoover Dam and decided we wanted to stop there to check it out. And that was pretty amazing too. The size of the dam is just beyond belief, that man can make something so huge. But still no comparison to the Grand Canyon.

On to Las Vegas and yes it's bright and glitzy and everything you can imagine Las Vegas would be. My take ... I've NEVER seen SOOOO many people in one place in my entire life. Not even HK! There were soooo many people there.

We checked into our very nice hotel and made a beeline for the Strip. It was hot. Walked for ages taking in the atmosphere and avoided collecting the 'girlie' cards people were handing out. Anyways, made it to the famous Bellagio fountain where I took this pic. We were standing here waiting for the fountains to start and this was our view. I was pleased to see it cause in the movie 2012, the clipped the top of this Eiffel Tower by the plane that was urgently taking off. Lol.

Sorry about the long write up, but I'm journaling what we did in one day. Back to LA tomorrow before we fly back to San Fran for some rest and relaxation and reflection, at the Peninsula's beautiful golf resort called Quail Lodge in Carmel, of our amazing American adventure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.