Kipper Cabin

By KipperCabin

Banned!

At midnight tonight. No more campfires til further notice ... gas campfires excluded! (that's me, heh heh, my campfire's okay).

A couple of Sundays ago I had a squiffy propane tank. It was awful hot that day. I happened to come out the back door and ... sniff, snorfle ... GAS! I was alarmed! There's a tank on the barby, a tank on the campfire, and a spare tank down the side of the house.

I stumbled across the deck sniffing and snorfling as I went and became aware of a distinct "pssssssssss" sound. Turned out it was the spare tank, sat in the hot sun, surely about to explode! I didn't know what to do! So I ran away.

I turned a few rapid circles round the kitchen thinking "what to do, whattodo,whattodo ... AHHH! I'll phone the fire brigade! They'll know what to do!". Yes, they knew what to do, they'd send someone over to have a look. Perfect. I figured one guy would run by in an SUV, when he had a minute to spare.

Then, off in the distance I hear sirens. I'm stood still in the kitchen. The sirens get louder. And then I can hear a rather massive truck roaring over the top of the hill. And the sirens are getting louder! I'm stood in the kitchen, mortified! I hear the truck roar round the end of my road, so I go out to wave them down, but my arm's all limp cos I'm about to collapse with horror!

The firetruck screeches to a halt, all four doors snap open and four ABSOLUTELY MAGNIFICENT firemen leap out and come BOUNDING toward me!

PHEEEWWWFF!

Anyway ...

They got the squiffy tank sorted, had a cup of tea, then went back to the station.

I shall leave my spare propane tank sitting in the sun more often. MARVELOUS!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.