a little bit of rhubarb

By Puggle

Pointless Waffle About Nothing In Particular

"Gee," someone in the office said to nobody in particular about 4.30pm (craning their neck to peer awkwardly out of the narrow slot view between office buildings that provides a glimpse of sky) "the sky's a weird colour."

From the outside of the building (only from a certain height and angle, mind) there would have been a sudden impression that the office was inhabited by prairie dogs, as several heads popped over their partitions to peer out the window, lured by the promise of the outside world.

90 seconds later, I stretched ostentatiously and made a great deal of noise about having a backache. "I'm just going for a lap around the block to straighten myself out - won't be a tick."

Cue an oh-so-casual, who-me-i've-got-a-dicky-back-doncha-know stroll towards the exit, followed by a mad dash down to Martin Place in what I knew was going to be my only chance at getting any kind of photo before nightfall. No time or opportunity to be choosy- I just got my skates on and possibly set a land speed record.

It really was a weird peachy-orangey light and Mother Nature was clearly being indecisive about what She was up to, as She had just finished a light shower, was clearly weighing up the merits of showering again, but was also keeping Her options open by having a scrap of rainbow (which you may just possibly make out to the right of the crane) to fool the naïve into thinking that any scheduled rain had been done for the day.

Five minutes after returning to the office, there was what appeared to be a spectacular sunset, which I was completely unable to do anything about. It was followed by a completely uninspiring soggy night. As a colleague's sly intra-office email pointed out: That was God punishing me for skiving.

I say that if God didn't want me to skive, He wouldn't have given me a round, guileless would-I-lie-to-you face or assigned me an office cubicle conveniently near the fire escape stairwell. It is all part of His plan for me. Not sure how just yet, but it'll all make sense eventually.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.