Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Out on the wiley, windy moors...

Today is Yorkshire Day, and you don't get more Yorkshire than The Brontes.

The moors above Haworth weren't very windy - just hot - but very wiley indeed. We got lost. My plan was not to walk to the Bronte Falls along the clearly marked and very well maintained footpath, but to cut across the top of the moors. A very hot 90 minutes later we I had to admit defeat and go find the clearly marked, and very well maintained footpath. The main problem was that I thought I had been to the falls before so I had an idea of the landscape in my mind. When we got there I realised that wherever I went before, it wasn't the Bronte Falls.

As we arrived at the falls, the sun went in - a relief for our comfort but it buggered my photos! So you have atmospheric. Tempted to blackandwhitify it, but I like the tones. The area around the falls was very popular with the Bronte sisters, the clapper bridge is named after them; the plaque notes the bridge was rebuilt in 1990 after collapsing in flash floods the year before. Try it large.

We are back home, picking out bits of heather from all sorts of places.

Now if ONLY there were a suitable song, but then nobody would ever write a song about a Bronte novel would they? Jane Eyre maybe? I just can't think of anything......



ps oh go on then.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.