Dinosaur-terrier stand-off

I started this morning almost too tired to stand but my planned first lesson went OK (though it wouldn't have won me any CELTA prizes) apart from a four-strong sub-group who've been troubling me all week and who I was relieved to find are notorious in the staff room.

Chuffed to bits to have shown some of my second group how to use a rhyming dictionary and how to recast their song lyrics in order to find end-rhymes.

I was ashamed that although I knew what I wanted to do, I didn't plan my third (discussion-based) lesson until the lunch break but that too went well except, oddly, with the one student who had said he wanted more discussion. I'm still puzzled by that.

The fourth group are the ones who were almost too tired to breathe yesterday and they were great but may be my downfall, since they are creating a magazine and I have let the stroppy sub-group write about cheating in school. They were refusing to use English but now are and they have decided that their most important rule for cheating is 'Don't - if you don't learn the person you cheat is yourself'. But since they have exposed some techniques, and the magazine is suppposed to go to all in the group including the law-abiding Chinese, I have a dilemma. I'm pretty sure all the other teachers would have stamped on them at the beginning and I'm not sure that my reasons for not doing so will be understood.

Still no time for journals - sorry. The picture is probably appropriate on some deep level of metaphor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.