Cabbagetree

By cabbagetree

Three Heroes

When Neil Armstrong set foot on the moon 40 years ago today it was a massive achievement for the United States of America, and a great moment in history.

On the day I was as excited as anyone. I'd followed the space program in the National Geographic and other magazines and in the newspaper.
Back then we didn't have a television set. I listened to the live radio broadcast, dragging the heavy portable around the garden as I weeded the flower garden and played with my three-and-a-half-year-old daughter.

At last the time came. I wanted to fix the moment in my daughter's memory. I jumped up and down shouting, "a man has stepped on the moon!" But she couldn't see what the fuss was about. She said, "the cow jumped over it."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.