No Such Thing As A Free Coffee!

I spent money! I knew I would.

We had to devote the day to taking The Mother up to the city hospital. I say "we" because the parking situation is so bad that The Man has to take us up so that I can give all my attention to The Mother instead of me parking her in the hospital while I drive round and around becoming homicidal as I curse the hospital admin for creating lawns and selling off land rather than providing adequate parking spaces. All the time thinking I will not get parked before her appointment time. Good Man.

She has had a swallowing/coughing problem, making eating difficult, since Christmas that became life-threatening in February. She has made a slow but remarkable improvement, however investigations are still going on to find out why this is happening. Today we discovered that she has no peristalsis in the lower oesophagus, so all she has been saying about not being able to eat another mouthful has been true. Food isn't automatically being carried into her stomach. Sorry to be so graphic!

She felt rotten after the examination and couldn't face the 20 mile journey home so we went to a garden centre where we knew we would enjoy shopping. I shopped in the Craft Dept, I shopped in the Plant Dept, I shopped in the Farm Food Dept, The Mother even shopped in the Charity Book Dept!

When she wanted to shop in the Plant Dept I said "Oh! I haven't had one of those for YEARS!" and made use of a buy-two-save-a-couple-of-quid offer.

I did use my loyalty card and get a free cup of coffee though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.