Balnakeil

Another shot which looks like it could be somewhere exotic and tropical but is actually the very Northwest tip of Scotland. I'm sure I've discussed it before but Balnakeil is probably my favourite beach in the world. This is actually the end of the first beach and I prefer the second one, but with my broken toe still bugging me the walk over the dunes to the second one seemed a bit much even with strong co-codamols.

Just as well really as I'm paying for it now with a constant ache back in my foot. Although that may be less to do with the walk and more to do with taking my shoes off on the way back and walking back through the water.

We finished our last full day up here with dinner at the Rhiconich hotel for ome decent food and great service despite te waitress being on on her own tonight.

Nice way to finish a good holiday, We've been incredibly lucky with the weather again and when you get weather like this the cliche that there are few better places in the world to come really does hold true. Will be sad to head back down the road tomorrow. Wish I could have walked a bit more to spend more time on some of the amazing beaches up here, as it turned out walking on anything other than flat pavements was pretty unpleasant, but then you can't have it all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.