OnwardToOurPast

By OnwardToOurPast

A day in the life .... of me

I know this looks just like a dishwasher, but it represents an intense battle of willpower. My wife's brain cancer causes her overwhelming, constant, and consuming anxiety. This is exacerbated when something occurs out of her ordinary daily schedule (think 'Ground Hog Day' and you have our lives).

Our old dishwasher died. The week in between was a week of holy terror for her ... far more intense anxiety over the day coming when her schedule would be disrupted by an hour's visit by a repairman.

Today was the day. The anxiety boiled to the point of such fear that I was being begged to cancel the whole thing. Staying calm was a battle all its own.

Bu she battled and made it though. Now the 'cool down' period will last two days and then our 'normal' will return.

I will never look at this machine as a piece of metal and electronics. I will look at it as a monument to her will .... her ability to overcome fear and the unknown.

While the road may not be smooth nor easy, we make it. Day-by-day.

Today THIS picture represents our victory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.