Bee Watch

I've been taking part in the Bumblebee Conservation bee watch survey and this one attracted my attention because of its yellow head, which appears to be quite unusual. I think it's a White-tailed Bumblebee and I also think it's male as it seemed to have lots of time to hang around and was certainly not busy collecting pollen. Apparently the males do have yellow on their heads. I'm waiting for an expert to say yay or nay :)

More garden tidying this afternoon but still lots to do. My thoughts are also turning to re-planning some of the areas. The garden looks great in spring/ early summer but then most of the colour disappears. I'm wondering if I can plant up the area I've cleared today as an August/ September bed. It would also be good to get more bee friendly plants in there too. It will be a good excuse for more visits to nurseries this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.