Treasure Everywhere

By RobT

Happy Blipday / Birthday To Me!

My second Blipversary! And it coincided with a little birthday get-together I had today (actual birthday not until Monday, in case you were thinking of getting me a card...) with a few local friends. I realised towards the end of the afternoon that I needed a suitably celebratory blip, so I persuaded a bunch of very nice people to lie down on the lawn in the vague shape of a "2" while I hung out of the bathroom window looking down.

It might not be a technically perfect shot but hey-ho. Big thanks to Laura, Kirstie, Dud, Wilson, Imogen, Sam, Ciara and Phoebe!

EDIT:

Ahem. I was "slightly" under the influence of a 2pm start on the birthday Pimms when I shot, edited and posted this, and I didn't say many of the things that I'd like to have said on this momentous occasion. So here's what I would have said if I was thinking straighter:

I *really* love being on Blipfoto! It's hard to imagine life without it. It's actually changed my life, in a small (I think...) way. It's inspired me to start a photography degree!

It's given me a hobby that I've got in common with my wife (AnnW) – which is novel after 20+ years!

It's coincided with a period of my life when I'm working away from home a lot (which has at least given me some interesting subjects like Richmond, Vienna, Berlin etc) and gives me something to focus on when I'm missing Ann and Jasper.

It's opened my eyes to some AMAZING photography that I would otherwise never have seen, not the pro stuff that hits photography magazines but real people, literally 'everyday photographers'.

And I must apologise for not being a more prolific commenter... I feel bad that most days I just post, look at the journals I subscribe to and promise myself that tomorrow I'll stay a while and tell everyone how great their blips are. In particular I am incredibly grateful for the regular commenters like Legodude, acronymphomania, KarenC, MeeshJ, BobWinchester55, LynnW, Rollercoaster, Shuttersister, musings, NicoiseAnnie, Crispin25, aprecious, Pokeybagel, Gladders, fotojunci, Quaver, RosInAus, rlkay, GeekMeek, conventgirl, Beckett, NWJen, Wackbatt, Shaaamie, BrianH and I'm sure I've forgotten some but I'm still a little hungover...

And finally I hit Spotlight! Woo-HOO!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.