Kipper Cabin

By KipperCabin

Floating on fog

There's a boat out there, way off in the distance. You can see the top half, the bottom half is in fog. It's a big boat, a cruise ship heading into port. It'll stay for a day or two and the passengers will leave lots of money behind.

I stood on top of Trafalgar Point to take this. Directly under Trafalgar Point is Harling Point. There's a Chinese cemetery on the edge of Harling Point. It's very old and many Chinese rail workers are buried there. The bones used to be repatriated to China seven years after burial, but they stopped in the 1930's. So now the troubled souls of the unrepatriated wander Harling Point. S'true! It's actually quite nice on Harling Point, so I used to drive down from time to time to take in the view. Fred was small and strapped into his car seat in the back. When we drove by the Chinese Cemetery he'd start screaming "NO! NO! GO! GO!" It was alarming and I mentioned it to someone and they told me the story about the bones. For a while I was concerned Fred's first complete sentence would be "I see dead people".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.