Bumblebee Heaven

My neighbours Echinopsis thistles are much bigger than mine and are that little bit further forward. I've counted nine bumblebees on a single head but Helen has told me she counted twelve this afternoon. What a fab plant.

The celebration meal didn't happen last night. I was taken into A&E as the pain (see yesterday) was causing me concern by 7.30pm. I've always considered the Royal Surrey in Guildford as having the best emergency unit but last night was a total fail.

Thank goodness for an oversized pack of frozen peas. It may have, literally, saved my skin, something the doctors didn't. I waited for four and a half hours before questioning the receptionist as to why nobody was being called, some in more serious conditions than I, and was told it would probably be another couple of hours before we would be seen. Lucy and Lachlan had sensibly decided to leave me an hour before so rather than call them out again, I rang a taxi and returned home. Foot still in no good shape but I reckoned all they could have done so long after the incident was to give me painkillers, which I had at home, and possibly bandage it.

24 hours later and I am blister free which is a bonus, but the between my toes and where the material adhered most to my skin are very white against the bright pink of the rest of the scalded area, my foot is swollen and painkillers are doing the trick to keep me walking.

What happened in the hospital I do not know. There didn't seem to be many ambulances arriving and it's true that I couldn't judge how many inpatients were in need of resuscitation, but by the time I left many had left before me, leaving a pile of complaint forms. My theory is that they were short staffed, possibly for the need for extra cover for incidents that may occur during the bike race on Sunday. They normally give an excellent service so I really can't hold it against them... but there again I do have a functional foot. My last words to the receptionist were that the peas were now cooked so I'd better go and eat them! :)

Lucy and Lachlan have now gone to their new house. I've loved having them here and wish them all the best in their new home. I'll probably see them again within a few days. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.