Ice Cubes from Heaven

I was home this morning by 5.30am. Lachlan was already up and ready to go. Within half an hours Lucie was out of bed and we were on our way to East Sussex. We arrived well in time to receive the new washing machine but the estate agent didn't come until an hour and a half later with the keys.

Whilst we waited we filled an out house with most of the contents of the van but had to take shelter when a violent hail storm erupted. These are the hail stones in Lucies hand, some five to ten minutes after the barrage subsided. I can't remember seeing such large lumps of ice fall from the sky in the UK! Diamonds from heaven to greet the new residents.

The cottage is beautiful! Set back from the road with a few neighbours behind and views of only fields and livestock in front, it couldn't be more ideal for the young couple. The stairs will be fun with a new baby due at the beginning of November, but I'm sure that will soon be overcome. It's an old school house, not just gorgeous but with such a good feeling. I'm so happy for them.

Of course there were a few things we forgot, including the all important kettle and pans, but they will go with them tomorrow.

There's a celebration dinner in the oven, just. I'm typing with my feet in a bucket of cold water, Accidents happen. I lifted the par boiled veg from the pan and proceeded to tip the boiling water over my lower leg and feet. Ouch.. idiot! I rushed out and opened the hose and hope I managed to stop too much damage but my tootsies are a rather strange colour of violet!

Update tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.