Chocolate, Orange and Almond Tart.

Two tarts made today, not both for us! The recipe is for Salted Chocolate Tart, but I didn't think the children would like that so I substituted chocolate with orange, only when I chopped it up did I realise it has almonds too. Quick and easy to make, a saucepan and spoon each left to scrape so no childish arguments either. Only one problem, the leave to set for 4 hours or overnight instruction?! As if anyone in my house would resist the temptation, so testing will take place about 9.30pm, I'll let you know how it goes. If it's good I'd quite like trying it out with chocolate and chilli.

I can't find this listed yet for a link, it's from the August issue of Waitrose Kitchen, and uses their 205g sweet pastry case. Other supermarkets are available!

Warm 170ml double cream, 2tbsp whole milk, half teaspoon vanilla extract, and 50g caster sugar in a pan, stirring until the sugar dissolves. Bring to a simmer then take off the heat.
Stir in 150g dark chocolate with sea salt, finely chopped, and 35g unsalted butter, until melted. Leave for 2 minutes, then pour into the pastry case. Set in the fridge for at least 4 hours or overnight. Scatter with sea salt before serving with some creme fraiche.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.