song sparrow(s)

There's an empty field full of wild, native praire plants that we'd walked by before on our walks, so today I brought my camera and tripod along & set them up in the middle of the field. I was actually taking pictures of some of the flowers when 2 sparrows started flying around us. They both landed on some queen Anne's lace not far from where we were, so I slowly changed the camera direction & took a couple of shots of them. I had the telephoto lens on, so could only focus on 1 of them. I'd swear this one wanted his picture taken, as he's looking right at me, and sat there through several clicks before flying off. They're actually song sparrows, & the male will serenade his mate with more than 20 songs, & can improvise more than 1000 variations on these melodies! Clever guy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.