Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Superb by any other Fairy

Last day of my three day weekend today. I had taken the day off work when I noticed that no-one had booked in any patients for me - probably due to it being a bank holiday, and confusion about whether it was a public holiday as well. We had a bit of confusion ourselves, as I thought I'd be having a nice day with mrs tsuken and the kids, but as it was just a bank holiday, there was school - so I thought it'd be a nice day with mrs tsuken sans kids - allowing us to go to the gym, and just have time together without needing to wrangle chilluns. However, Mstr 6's cold had other ideas. 11 last night he got super-croupy. Difficulty breathing led to panic and worse breathing, poor thing. He did absolutely brilliantly listening to me, and calming down, slowing his breathing. Prednisone, in bed with us, electric blankets on ... gradually settled. Anyway, so we kept him home from school - not that he really seemed (during the day) to need it.

During the day, mrs tsuken and I got to talking about fruit trees and our big expanse of lawn. I went up to the plant shop and got a peach tree, and a Eureka lemon tree (which fruits all year round - BONUS). So, then I had to plant the beggars. Our soil is hard, and FULLOFROCKS. So that was a very hard bit of work. Very satisfying though; now we have two lemons, an orange, a lime, and a peach tree. The young lad was very helpful too: when I was planting the lemon he came down and asked if he could help. He got his little wheelbarrow to move the soil I was digging out, then he helped me mix the soil with the potting mix and put it back in. He was also most encouraging as I was tiring and hurting my shoulder - and he kept telling me what a lot of hard work I had done today.

Earlier in the day I went out in search of wrens, and I found this lovely little thing. Large here. It's a bit confusing: by distribution it could only be a superb or a variegated fairy wren, and it doesn't look quite like either. To me it looks most like a superb fairy wren, perhaps a juvenile male (though it was with a female), but the blue surrounds the eye, whereas all the pictures I see of the superb fairy wren have the blue above and below. So I is somewhat confuse.

All up, this weekend has been monstrously satisfying. The farmers and growers' market on Saturday; the big run and mahoosive amounts of gardening yesterday; and today the tree planting and wren-spotting. I feel rather good. Orchadist level 1: achievement unlocked. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.