Smile for the camera...

Despite a dull and damp start to the day, Rosie and I had a long potter round Holme Fen, having dropped Pete off at the Great Fen Committee. It was pleasantly warm, and the conditions combined to favour hordes of marauding and malevolant mosquitoes, though most were at ankle height and didn't bother me too much. I think Rosie may have suffered more than me...

Despite the overcast conditions, there were quite a few insects about, including plenty of wasps. I know many people fear and loathe these creatures, but I find them fascinating. I watched this particular wasp for several minutes.

First it was busy feeding on bramble blossom, and then it flew onto a bramble leaf where it proceeded to have a very thorough wash and brush up. This was taken just as it noticed the large shiny lens being thrust into its face. I was quite close at the time, but had no need to be afraid as this is a male wasp and has no sting.

I've spent some time trying to identify this species - wasps are potentially just as tricky as bumblebees! The markings on the face are suggestive of a tree wasp Dolichovespula sylvestris, but other images show a characteristic pattern of yellow spots on the thorax that suggests that this is actually a Saxon wasp Dolichovespula saxonica.

This continental species colonised Britain relatively recently, the first record dating from 1987, with the first confirmed nests recorded in 1991. It is still most common in south-east England, but there are records as far north as East Lothian. It has a relatively small aerial nest, usually hanging from a tree branch or rafters, and is known to be very unaggressive. Because of the difficulties of identification it's still likely to be under-recorded - certainly there don't seem to be many local records!

PS Thanks for all the comments, stars and hearts for yesterday's fairy bells. You'll be pleased to know that once I'd got my bearings I found the rucksack quite quickly! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.